It is currently Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:59 pm


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 2   [ 16 posts ]
Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Questions, Questions, We answer questions!
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 10:22 pm 
User avatar
TCT Member

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 7:48 pm
Posts: 467
Location: Oklahoma
If you have any technical questions feel free to ask them. We will do our best to find you an answer and your question may even end up on the podcast :lol:. Also feel free to comment on the show and tell us what you think :wink:. So start serving up those questions and comments.

_________________
Image


Last edited by Anthony on Fri Jul 14, 2006 10:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions, Questions, We answer questions!
PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 12:52 pm 
User avatar
TCT Member

Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:56 am
Posts: 34
Location: Navarre Flordia
Uru Live KI: 0
Anthony wrote:
If you have any technical questions feel free to ask them. We will do our best to find you an answer and your question may even end up on the podcast :lol:. Also feel free to comment on the show and tell us what you think :wink:. So start serving up those questions and comments.

i have a question every time i go to play battlefront 2 when i go to load a battle the screen goes black for about a minute and a half i'm playing it on pc please help :?

_________________
rise and rise again t'ill lambs become lions


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions, Questions, We answer questions!
PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 1:02 pm 
User avatar
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 12:36 pm
Posts: 854
Location: Warren, MI
Uru Live KI: 171075
Title: 2011 Camaro 2LT - 312 horsepower - enough to pull YOUR wagon!
I'm not sure if you're aware, but TCT Tech really isn't active anymore, and this thread is from 2006. Bumping old threads is considered bad netiquette. You are free to start a new thread if you like.

Are you a "The Cavern Today" listener / fan?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions, Questions, We answer questions!
PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 1:35 pm 
User avatar
TCT Member

Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:56 am
Posts: 34
Location: Navarre Flordia
Uru Live KI: 0
Jnathus wrote:
I'm not sure if you're aware, but TCT Tech really isn't active anymore, and this thread is from 2006. Bumping old threads is considered bad netiquette. You are free to start a new thread if you like.

Are you a "The Cavern Today" listener / fan?

yes i'm a big fan and i had only played myst and riven and when i got my first ipod i saw the podcast and dowloaded over the fence episode 3 from that point on i was hooked and was thrilled to find out there was or used to be a myst mmo i love the podcast and i justed created a acount on the forum and i love it :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!:

_________________
rise and rise again t'ill lambs become lions


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions, Questions, We answer questions!
PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 1:38 pm 
User avatar
Website Staff

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 8:05 am
Posts: 130
Location: Hidding from the DRC, inside The Great Zero.
Uru Live KI: 223429
Skype: moosehadley
Title: Seriously I . . . Is that a shiny thing???
If you want to start playing the MMO is still available!
And it's free!
You can register an account and download it here:
http://mystonline.com/en/play/

_________________
01000001 00100000 01001101 01001111 01001111 01010011
01000101
00100000 01001001 01010011 00100000 01001111
01001110 00100000 01010100 01001000 01000101 00100000
01001100 01001111 01001111 01010011 01000101 00100001

Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions, Questions, We answer questions!
PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 1:44 pm 
User avatar
TCT Member

Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:56 am
Posts: 34
Location: Navarre Flordia
Uru Live KI: 0
Moose wrote:
If you want to start playing the MMO is still available!
And it's free!
You can register an account and download it here:
http://mystonline.com/en/play/

o i know there is just no more new content and i beat it[it was a blast] thanks tough

_________________
rise and rise again t'ill lambs become lions


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions, Questions, We answer questions!
PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2011 2:38 pm 
User avatar
TCT Member

Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 11:34 am
Posts: 19
Location: Floridia
Uru Live KI: 0
i was just wondering what can i play with a gig. of ram and a Direct X graphics card


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions, Questions, We answer questions!
PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2011 4:22 pm 
User avatar
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 12:36 pm
Posts: 854
Location: Warren, MI
Uru Live KI: 171075
Title: 2011 Camaro 2LT - 312 horsepower - enough to pull YOUR wagon!
axxel876 wrote:
i was just wondering what can i play with a gig. of ram and a Direct X graphics card


Not enough specificity with the hardware.
What CPU?
What version of Windows (I assume XP, but you need to verify).
WHAT DirectX Video card (DirectX is now up to version 11, so there are 11 different versions of DirectX . .. more if you count the minor point releasesi.e. DX 9.1, etc).
Also
What kinds of games you get into?

Without much more information, I'd say older games like Civilization IV, CounterStrike Source, etc - should all run just fine for you - of course depending on the resolution / settings you run the game at.

I tend to favor action games / shooters, so those are the kinds of recommendations I can give you.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions, Questions, We answer questions!
PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2011 5:12 am 
User avatar
TCT Member

Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 11:34 am
Posts: 19
Location: Floridia
Uru Live KI: 0
windows xp and Direct X 9 .I like all kinds of games adveture games shooters and zoo tycoon
.do you think team fortress 2 would run on my computor.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions, Questions, We answer questions!
PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2011 9:07 am 
User avatar
Website Staff

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 8:05 am
Posts: 130
Location: Hidding from the DRC, inside The Great Zero.
Uru Live KI: 223429
Skype: moosehadley
Title: Seriously I . . . Is that a shiny thing???
axxel876 wrote:
windows xp and Direct X 9 .I like all kinds of games adveture games shooters and zoo tycoon
.do you think team fortress 2 would run on my computor.


Possibly.
You do exceed the minimum requirements.
Code:
Minimum: 1.7 GHz Processor, 512MB RAM, DirectX® 8.1 level Graphics Card (Requires support for SSE), Windows® 7 (32/64-bit)/Vista/XP, Mouse, Keyboard, Internet Connection

Recommended: Pentium 4 processor (3.0GHz, or better), 1GB RAM, DirectX® 9 level Graphics Card, Windows® 7 (32/64-bit)/Vista/XP, Mouse, Keyboard, Internet Connection

_________________
01000001 00100000 01001101 01001111 01001111 01010011
01000101
00100000 01001001 01010011 00100000 01001111
01001110 00100000 01010100 01001000 01000101 00100000
01001100 01001111 01001111 01010011 01000101 00100001

Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions, Questions, We answer questions!
PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2011 10:12 am 
User avatar
TCT Member

Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 11:34 am
Posts: 19
Location: Floridia
Uru Live KI: 0
yes but do you think I'd be able to play it without 20 min. load times
freezing(not to mention poping and stopping)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions, Questions, We answer questions!
PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2011 11:58 am 
User avatar
Website Staff

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 8:05 am
Posts: 130
Location: Hidding from the DRC, inside The Great Zero.
Uru Live KI: 223429
Skype: moosehadley
Title: Seriously I . . . Is that a shiny thing???
axxel876 wrote:
yes but do you think I'd be able to play it without 20 min. load times
freezing(not to mention poping and stopping)


Windows XP and DirectX 9 is extremely vague. All Windows XP computer have DX9

To tell you if it will run well, we're going to need allot more information about your computer and internet connection.

Use this to tell us what your speed is: http://speedtest.net/
Use this to tell us what your ping is: http://pingtest.net/

Then you can use Speccy to tell us what components your computer has.
Get that here: http://www.piriform.com/speccy/download/standard

Then we'll have enough information to give you suggestions.

After opening Speccy, copy everything in the main window, and paste it into your reply.
For Pingtest, after you get your result, click 'Forum Link'. And paste that into your reply.
For Speedtest, press Share Result, then Forum, and copy the code.
So your written post should look something like this:

Code:
[URL=http://www.speedtest.net][IMG]http://www.speedtest.net/result/1253860744.png[/IMG][/URL]
[URL=http://www.pingtest.net][IMG]http://www.pingtest.net/result/38863232.png[/IMG][/URL]
Operating System
   MS Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit
CPU
   AMD Athlon X2 QL-62   90 °C
   Griffin 65nm Technology
RAM
   2.0GB DDR2 @ 333MHz (5-5-5-15)
Motherboard
   Wistron 303C (Socket A)   82 °C
Graphics
   LP156WH1-TLA3 (1366x768@60Hz)
   256MB GeForce 8200M G (HP)   92 °C
Hard Drives
   244GB TOSHIBA TOSHIBA MK2555GSX ATA Device (SATA)
Optical Drives
   HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50N ATA Device
   MagicISO Virtual DVD-ROM0000
Audio
   Conexant High Definition SmartAudio 221


Resulting in this:
Quote:
Image
Image
Operating System
MS Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit
CPU
AMD Athlon X2 QL-62 90 °C
Griffin 65nm Technology
RAM
2.0GB DDR2 @ 333MHz (5-5-5-15)
Motherboard
Wistron 303C (Socket A) 82 °C
Graphics
LP156WH1-TLA3 (1366x768@60Hz)
256MB GeForce 8200M G (HP) 92 °C
Hard Drives
244GB TOSHIBA TOSHIBA MK2555GSX ATA Device (SATA)
Optical Drives
HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50N ATA Device
MagicISO Virtual DVD-ROM0000
Audio
Conexant High Definition SmartAudio 221

_________________
01000001 00100000 01001101 01001111 01001111 01010011
01000101
00100000 01001001 01010011 00100000 01001111
01001110 00100000 01010100 01001000 01000101 00100000
01001100 01001111 01001111 01010011 01000101 00100001

Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions, Questions, We answer questions!
PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2011 11:21 am 
User avatar
TCT Member

Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:56 am
Posts: 34
Location: Navarre Flordia
Uru Live KI: 0
Operating System
MS Windows XP Professional 32-bit SP3
CPU
Intel Pentium 4 521
Intel Pentium 4 521
Prescott 90nm Technology
RAM
768MB Dual-Channel DDR2 @ 199MHz (3-3-3-9)
Motherboard
Dell Inc. 0JC474 (Microprocessor)
Graphics
Acer X223W (1280x1024@60Hz)
Intel(R) 82915G/GV/910GL Express Chipset Family
Hard Drives
313GB Western Digital WDC WD3200AAJS-56M0A0 (SATA) 37 °C
Optical Drives
SONY DVD-ROM DDU1615
Audio
SigmaTel High Definition Audio CODEC [Here They Are]

_________________
rise and rise again t'ill lambs become lions


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions, Questions, We answer questions!
PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2011 11:41 am 
User avatar
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 12:36 pm
Posts: 854
Location: Warren, MI
Uru Live KI: 171075
Title: 2011 Camaro 2LT - 312 horsepower - enough to pull YOUR wagon!
Your graphics are integrated. THAT is your system's achilles heal. The Intel integrated GPU isn't a power house, and it uses a chunk of your system's RAM for VRAM, which as any tech enthusiast knows is a major roadblock to system performance, as well as gaming performance.

I don't have any access to benchmark data on that card, but given the processor's age, I'd say you'd have to keep your game resolution and settings lower.

Some of today's upcoming titles have very steep requirements, which I agree with - who wants to play games with muddy textures at 640x480? - some games require the mid-grade DEDICATED graphics solution from 3-4 years ago - the GeForce 8800 with Core 2 Duo processors. You might find certain Valve games like Half-Life 2, Counter-Strike Source, etc that'll run on your system. Any newer than that - Left 4 Dead, Portal, etc . .. and you'll find your system's specs out-matched by today's titles.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions, Questions, We answer questions!
PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2011 11:53 am 
User avatar
TCT Member

Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:56 am
Posts: 34
Location: Navarre Flordia
Uru Live KI: 0
Yes i've been painfully aware o've that in the past 2 years

_________________
rise and rise again t'ill lambs become lions


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 2   [ 16 posts ]
Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons By-NC-ND 3.0 License. Powered by phpBB